NCRA NewsMail

22 October 2017

(1) Further to the recent Neighbourhood Watch Update

Thanks to Sidcup Community Group for sending us the following advice from PCSO Steve Graves :

There has been a spate of burglaries occurring throughout the borough.
Faraday Avenue has been targeted, a house was unattended and suspects gained access by kicking in the bottom panel of a UPVC door at the side of the property. This gave access to a utility room as well as the whole house. Unfortunately an untidy search was carried out and numerous items were taken, including jewellery and laptops. This occurred on Weds 18th October between 0845hrs-2020hrs.
Elm Road was also hit yesterday on Weds 18th October just after 11am. The victim received an alert on her mobile which indicated that her house alarm had been activated. When they returned home they discovered some damage on the bottom panel of the rear door. Thankfully no entry was gained and therefore nothing was stolen.
Please can I ask you all to review the security of your home. Vast majority of these burglaries are occurring during the day. DO NOT leave the house in darkness, cant stress this enough folks! Light timers and fake TV's are excellent devices, leaving the radio on is another option. Burglar alarms as you can see from above are the best devices out there, if your neighbour has one, then more reason to get yourself alarmed up.


(2) Revised Proposal For Our Parliamentary Constituency Boundary

As a result of the decision by Parliament to reduce the number of constituencies from 650 to 600, the size of our present constituency (Old Bexley and Sidcup) will be enlarged. If agreed by Parliament, this change will be in use at the next scheduled General Election in 2022.

The Boundary Commission for England (BCE) has just published its final proposal for Bexley and Sidcup, which would include part of the present Bexleyheath and Crayford constituency. And it has invited people to have their say.

Details, and sight of the maps, can be obtained from BCE's website :

The deadline for comments is 11 December 2017